Just Plain Living…

Stories from our gentle Home…

Preserving the Harvest September 17, 2009

Apples! Sept 2009 027

Apples! Sept 2009 024

  

 

 

 

    The Harvest is here! I can not  believe the Earth  is already beginning the tilt into the Fall. Summer has flown by and I have been a bit lazy with my blogging habits. This is because summer is the time for discovering  beauty and awe in each other, in ourselves, and in the fascinating world around us….no time to blog!  As the sun wraps its warm arms about us, we celebrate with a delightful combination of revelry and reverence for all that is, for all that we are (thanks to Jubilee! for that). We have mad many amazing moments of wonder in the past few months and I send out gratitude from my heart for the memories. With Mabon approaching on the 22nd, I feel it necessary to post about storing up for the winter. When I stop and stare out the window, or when I am sitting in the woods…JUST watching…(sometimes for a bit too long!), I am starting to see that nature is getting ready too. Mother Earth is silently calling, signaling for us to get ready, winter is coming. Well, I love winter. It is my favorite season…so naturally, I hear her call and am working diligently to preserve the harvest to ensure plenty of hibernating time in the midst of winter. OK, I am starting to dream of winter a bit too much now…it will be here soon enough I suppose.  Must get through fall first.

Last week we went apple picking. We picked a bushel and a half…roughly 60 pounds of apples. I had planned to preserve all of them in different ways. We made and canned applesauce, apple pie filling , apple butter and dried as many slices as would fit in the dehydrator.  The aroma in the house is amazing right now. Here are some of the highlights:

Apples! Sept 2009 004Apples! Sept 2009 057

 

Apples! Sept 2009 039

 

 

Apples! Sept 2009 010

Making things with Apples! 003

Making things with Apples! 004 Making things with Apples! 007 Making things with Apples! 008 Making things with Apples! 013 Making things with Apples! 014 Making things with Apples! 021 Making things with Apples! 024

Making things with Apples! 018

       Making things with Apples! 020

And the tree was happy.

 

Leave a Reply

